The following are the TORAH Portion Readings for the Feast of SHAVU’OT:


SHAVU’OT Day 1 (6th Sivan):

  • Exodus 19:1-20:23
  • Numbers 28:26-31
  • Ezekiel 1:1-28; 3:12
  • John 1:32-34
  • Matthew 3:11-17
  • Acts 2:1-21; 37-41



SHAVU’OT Day 2 (7th Sivan):

  • Deuteronomy 14:22-16:17
  • Numbers 28:26-31
  • Habakkuk 3:1-19
  • Ruth
  • Acts 2:1-13



During this time, it is THEREFORE also customary to read:

In honour of King David, the Prophet Shmuel wrote the Book of Ruth to delineate the lineage of King David. It concludes with verses stating the connection between King David and Ruth. King David died on Shavuot

The Book of Ruth is recited as part of the program of study for Shavuot night. Additionally, in many synagogues it is read publicly on the second day of Shavuot. There are several reasons for this custom:

  1. Shavuot is the birthday and yahrtzeit(anniversary of passing) of King David, and the Book of Ruth records his ancestry. Ruth and her husband Boaz were King David’s great-grandparents.
  2. The scenes of harvesting described in the book of Ruth are appropriate to the Festival of Harvest.
  3. Ruth was a sincere convert who embraced Judaism with all her heart. On Shavuot all Jews were converts—having accepted the TORAH and all of its precepts.



as well as



It is also customary to spend the night preceding SHAVU’OT which is known as “EREV SHAVU’OT” reading and studying Exodus 20.

You should also read and study the Book of Ruth!


The period of Counting the Omer is a time of deep preparation spiritually for the fresh in-filling of RUACH HA KODESH and baptism by immersion!

The last three days are very crucial as they are so close to the day of meeting with YAH Almighty in a special way.